Building Resume 101 ( for lazy-bones developers )

Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

Building Resume 101 ( for lazy-bones developers )

ยท

2 min read

I am no expert in making resumes nor a veteran in the industry but the number of times I have made and updated my resume surely makes me capable enough to write this blog, well tbh I can't tell you what exactly to write in your resume or what things will make it ATS friendly, for that we have mentors and veteran out there, I am just here to give some tips which I used to make my resume.

If you don't find building a resume tedious then good for you, you can skip this blog, but if you procrastinate and avoid building a resume then sit back and read. I have 5 steps that you can use to have yourself a resume built.

  1. Consider building a resume as another project for you: I know many of us think that it'll take a lot of time, so let's code for now and I'll make it when I am done coding for the day or my near goal is completed, but y'all know what are the results! a prolonged procrastination and no resume. So it's better to schedule a day for building it, and if you are a single processor like me, then better to just build a resume on that particular day, it'll be a nice break from the grind as well.

  2. Use LinkedIn/Internshala/Chatgpt to generate the raw info: Your experience, certifications, projects, achievements, and other info should be in hand and in front of your eyes, to make it easy to generate the good stuff.

  3. Instead of writing your resume 'code it': It's a very common thing to type, drag and drop to make your resume but think for a bit about what we love the most as a developer, coding right? So why not code your resume, use latex and the deedy CV format to code your resume(overleaf.com), don't worry if you don't know latex, the format itself has enough of it to help you out, rest ChatGpt and Google can help.

  4. Make extensive use of ChatGpt: Imagine having to do something by yourselves and then having it done by an assistant ( sounds good to mind but heavy on pocket ? ) don't worry you have a free assistant as Chatgpt, I used Chatgpt to fill out the missing codes in my deedy CV, you can also use it to make your resume ATS friendly and include catchy keywords and a lot more.

  5. Fin: Last but not the list get your resume checked by a mentor and get your internship/job in hand :)

ย